Jailbirds, The Great Escape,Review, Rock, Golden Robot Records, Rockers And Other Animals, Rock News, HEAVY METAL, Rock Magazine, Rock Webzine, rock news, sleaze rock, glam rock, hair metal

Band: Jailbirds
Title: The Great Escape
Genre: Rock
Label: Golden Robot Records
Release Date: 5Th July 2019



1. The Great Escape
2. Loose Cannon
3. Nothing Good Lasts Forever
4. Shadow Of Love
5. Thrill Of The Chase
6. Underdog
7. The Pilot
8. Fight Or Flight

The Australian/Irish hard rock band based in Dublin, Ireland, Jailbirds, will release on 5th August, the brand new album “The Great Escape” via Golden Robot Records.
The band produce a sound defining of the new generation of hard rock wave, mixing or, influenced, by bands as Airbourne, AC/DC, Rose Tattoo, Thin Lizzy. 
Following the release of their 2016 debut EP “BREAK THE SILENCE” which saw the band gain instant airplay in numerous countries such as the Australia, Germany and the United Kingdom, as well as features in esteemed publications such as “Classic Rock Magazine”, the band were signed by Golden Robot Records (Dizzy Reed of Guns n’ Roses, Kings X, Rose Tattoo) in August 2018 and are currently working on their debut studio album, which is set for release in July 2019.
Having shared stages with Tyler Bryant and The Shakedown, The Answer and Anvil, Jailbirds
will be gearing up for a multitude of live dates which will be announced in early 2019. In the meantime, the guys will continue to spread the hard rock n’ roll gospel far and wide.
That said, the band is composed of good musicians who do not follow or even copy the bands of the past, indeed, taking their cue, they can make a good product.
Sharp tracks in which stands out the vocalist Axel McDonald that with a rough style, properly rock'n'roll and that manages to give a nice mark to each song.
The opener "The Great Escape" has a great sound, with a nice bass acoustic guitar intro and then a fresh, energetic, easy to listen to and honestly it’s an enjoyable track.
“Loose Cannon” is another good track with its catchy sound making it a classically rock'n'roll song, as well as the following track "Nothing Good Lasts Forever" which picks up a lot the sound of AC/DC, nothing new but is a brilliant piece and good guitars.
With "Thrill Of The Chase" we are on the wavelength, reminding me very vaguely of The Black Crowes in the vocals, while "Underdog" is more oriented to a blues style, not bad really, Jailbirds have managed to find the right balance in their sound, making everything so catchy and positive.
"Fight Or Flight" is perhaps the least similar song to the rest of the record, in a way manages to stand out while maintaining the style proposed so far in the previous songs, that's a good piece.
In closing another song that deserves attention, "The Pilot", in which we can say that manages to enclose all the enthusiasm of this album and the skill of this young band.
Definitely an album to consider.

Valeria Campagnale


Jailbirds - "Nothing Good Lasts Forever" Official  Video